Pumpkin Filo Rolls

 

This is the 2nd pumpkin recipe I tried out during the time off after Super storm Sandy.  I decided to post this recipe even though we are halfway thru November because it’s still fall and I’m all about the pumpkin flavor! Also this morning on my way to work I saw a few trees that despite the storm still have a nice color to them!  So I was inspired to post this recipe in homage to those few trees and some nice fall days after the storm.  

This recipe is loosely based on a Bulgarian dish called Tikvenik which is traditionally made with pumpkin and walnuts.   As you know, I never follow a recipe exactly so my version is a little different.  Before assembling these rolls you’ll need to ensure you have all of the ingredients on hand…namely the pumpkin puree which is the star of these rolls.    If you are using fresh pumpkin you can follow how to roast it on my earlier post.  If you cannot locate a fresh pumpkin to make your own puree, feel free to use the canned pumpkin puree.  I prefer using the pumpkin puree NOT the pumpkin pie filling as it allows you to be creative with the spices you use.  Since I used fresh pumpkin below is how I created my pumpkin puree:

Pumpkin Puree

1 ½ cups roasted pumpkin

1 tablespoon butter

1 tablespoon of pumpkin spice (or ½ teaspoon each of ground cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger)

1 teaspoon of vanilla

½ cup of light brown sugar

¼ teaspoon salt

 

Mix the roasted pumpkin and 1 tablespoon of butter on your stovetop which should be on medium heat.  Add in the pumpkin spice, vanilla, light brown sugar, and salt.  Mix everything until well incorporated and voila! You now have your own homemade pumpkin puree!

Pumpkin Filo Rolls

Assembly of these rolls requires a lot of patience as anyone who has ever worked with filo knows that it’s finicky and dries very easily which means you must work fast or your filo will dry out making it very difficult if not impossible to roll.   I began by ensuring my filo dough was covered in a damp towel or wash cloth as this helps to stop the filo from drying too fast.  My filo was already dried so for me this didn’t work and I did what I could to create the roll.  When I make Baklava I do this and it works great!  Despite the filo being dry my pumpkin rolls came out amazing!   Below are the ingredients you’ll need to get started on these awesome pumpkin rolls:

1 ½ cups of pumpkin puree

¾ – 1 cup of finely ground nuts (any variety)

½ cup of toffee or heath bar chips

½ cinnamon and sugar mixed together

12 sheets of filo dough

½ cup melted butter

Begin by preheating your oven to 350 degrees.  Take a sheet of filo dough and fold it in half lengthwise, then brush it with melted butter.  Spoon about 1 tablespoon of pumpkin puree and spread it over the filo dough leaving about ¼ inch on all four sides.  Sprinkle some cashew nuts over the pumpkin puree as the second layer.  Sprinkle some of the cinnamon sugar mixture as the third layer and finish with a sprinkle of the toffee chips.

Once you are done layering, roll the filo dough almost like you would roll a cigar.  Then place the roll in a well-greased baking pan, brush some butter over it, and sprinkle it with the cinnamon sugar mixture.  Repeat this process to create 12 rolls and then bake the rolls in a 350 degree oven for approximately 15 minutes or until the filo is nice and golden brown in color.   

Since I made these around Halloween I thought they would look cool in Halloween treat bags as shown above. 

Would love to know your thoughts and how you fared with Super Storm Sandy.

Leave a Reply

