Game Day Cookie Cake

Football is back!!!! With the first week of NFL football behind us and the 2nd week already started,  I wanted to post this recipe for a chocolate chip cookie cake that I made in honor of the first NFL game this season. Before the recipe though, here are some of my thoughts on NFL Week One:

  • In typical NY Giants fashion after a Superbowl win AND when they should be showing some team pride at a home game, they put up a disappointing loss to the Cowboys.  However it’s just the first game and a lot can happen during the season.  After all this is the same team that won the Superbowl last year with a 9-7 record.  Can you tell I’m a Giants fan????  If not you sure can now:

  • Speaking of Manning’s, it’s also nice to see Peyton Manning back in usual Peyton style doing his job at his best.  Using the no huddle works for him and I’m sure we’ll see how it will work for the Bronco’s as the season plays itself out. 
  • And the Redskins?? Holy smokes what a game for RGIII, not cool he’s in our division but I gotta give credit where it’s due.   
  • Finally, I definitely have to give credit to Joe Flacco.  Since his first four years on the Raven’s his added value as a QB made the Raven’s a threat offensively.  With an already strong defense they now have both sides of the coin in their favor.  Doesn’t hurt that he has a huge throwing arm.

Now back to the cookie cake.  On the back of  most chocolate chip bags, you’ll find their version of a recipe for chocolate chip cookies.  Since I bought Nestle Toll House chocolate chips, I followed that recipe which I happen to favor because I like the combination of brown and granulated sugar in baking.   I made half of the recipe because I wanted to have a smaller portion and rather than using normal size chocolate chips I went with the mini’s.  The recipe is below:

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup = 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups chocolate chips
  • 1 cup finely chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Beat butter, sugars and vanilla extract until creamy.  Add eggs, one at a time beating well after each addition.  Gradually add in the salt, baking soda and flour until everything comes together.  Stir in the chocolate chips and the chopped walnuts.  If you are using the whole recipe grease a 15 x 10 jelly roll pan and spread the prepared cookie dough in the plan.  Since I used a smaller pan (approximately 10  x 3) I did half of the recipe.  Either way, it needs to bake in the oven for 20 – 25 minutes or until golden brown. 

After the cookie cake cools you can frost it the way I did so that it looks like a football field. I used vanilla frosting from the grocery store and put in green food coloring to achieve the look for the field.  For the lines and numbers I used Betty Crocker’s cake icing as it comes in a can with 4 different tips to use for creating lines and writing.  Below is my finished cookie cake along with what I used to prepare it:

My cookie cake tastes awesome however, my frosting skills are still a work in progress so if you know how to frost well, your cake will look better. 

One thing I would do differently is make my own frosting as I find the brand frostings are usually too sweet. In addition, using a pastry bag to pipe the lines and numbers or using fondant will yield a better result. Would love to know your thoughts on both the cookie cake and the rest of the NFL season.

Leave a Reply

