Adult Popsicles (Blueberry and Orange Cream)

There are only a few weeks left to this summer season and until now I had yet to eat a popsicle.  As I was walking and listening to music earlier today,  I thought of this song lyric which aptly describes the feeling of eating a popsicle.  Many of you may remember this…”You’re my pop-si-cle…all I know is that you make me feel so fancy free…sweeter than candy better thank cake…” Did anyone else like New Kids on The Block growing up?  Boy does this bring back some fond summer memories of being a kid listening to my tapes (recorded from the radio) and waiting for the icee truck to come around.  As an adult I have a new found appreciation for the New Kids and rather than waiting for the icee truck to come around I now make my own frozen popsicles…adult style course.  Below are 2 recipes that will bring you back to your childhood and help you enjoy the last few weeks of summer.

Blueberry Popsicles

1/2 cup blueberries

1/2 cup ice cubes or crushed ice

1/2 lemon lime vodka

1/4 – 1/2 cup suger depending on taste

1/2 – 1 cup of water

The first part of this recipe starts with dissolving water and sugar.  This part depends on how sweet you want the popsicles.  I made mine with 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 cup of water.  Heat the water and sugar on the stove till almost at boiling point.  Now add in your blueberries and cook the mixture till it’s nice and thick and the blueberrys are fully incorporated.  It should be a nice purple/red color.  Set aside the mixture to cool.  Once cooled pour the mixture into a blender and add in the ice and vodka. Blend until you have a smooth, thick mixture.  Pour into popsicle molds or whatever vessel you desire (I used dixie cups) and place in the freezer.  After 20/30 minutes insert popsicle sticks. Return to the freezer and freeze overnight.  My mix made 4 popsicles.

Orange Cream Popsicles

This recipe was inspired by my love for orange creamsicle bars and orange sherbert.  It’s also very simple to put together.

1 cup fresh orange juice

1/2 cup agave nectar

1/2 cup lowfat milk

1/2 buttermilk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup ice

1/2 cup vodka

The beauty of this recipe is that it is fully made in the blender! Simply put all of the ingredients in a blender and blend away.  Once smooth pour into popsicle molds and freeze for 30 minutes. Add in the popsicle sticks and leave in the freezer overnight.  I did half of mine adult and half kid friendly and ended up with 4 kid friendly pops and 4 adult pops. These taste amazing and totally like creamsicles!   I hope you enjoy these recipes and use them as inspiration to create your own homemade popsicles.

Leave a Reply

