Create Paneer Cheese with Ease

A few days ago, I decided to make Ras Malai, an Indian dessert made with Paneer Cheese and soaked in sweetened milk that has thickened for an hour.  All I have to say is YUMMY!   I called my mom for help with the recipe which is a family secret so needless to say you won’t be reading about it until I have fine tuned it and made it my own.  However I am super obsessed with Paneer Cheese and would eat it every day if I could.   Until I got this recipe from my mom, I didn’t realize how easy it is to make it at home.  One caveat though is that it is much softer than the Paneer Cheese you purchase in a store.

Ingredients

Paneer Cheese

Heat the 6 cups of milk in a large pot until it boils keep stiring the milk so that it doesn’t burn. Once it starts to boil slowly add in the buttermilk one cup at a time.  Keep stiring the milk and soon enough you’ll begin to see it curdle.  Once you see the curdles and the rest of the mixture is translucent take the pot off the stove and let it sit for about 15 minutes.

Now comes the fun part, separating the cheese from the milk.  To do this take a large strainer and put it over a large bowl.  Pour the mixture into the strainer.  This will ensure that you have only the cheese.  Wait until the cheese has cooled a bit and then squeeze out the remaining the water.  Add salt and you now have your very own home made paneer cheese which you can use in your favorite recipe.

Leave a Reply

