Ginger Vodka

Ginger, Ginger, and more Ginger!  Can you tell that I am a huge ginger fan? I have been hunting for what seems like forever for a ginger vodka.  You see my mom made some a few years ago and I absolutely loved it. Since I have not been able to find it in any local liquor store, and didn’t have the patience to order it online, I decided to take matters into my own hands and infuse my own ginger vodka.  The idea became even more attractive since my fiancé  and I decided to celebrate a milestone in our life at a place in New York City called Pravda.  I purchased a deal through bloomspot and thought this would be a cool place to try out. One of the things Pravda is known for is their infused vodka and of course one of them is ginger mango.   More on Pravda later.  Below is my ginger infused Vodka recipe:

The first thing I did was to make a ginger simple syrup, because in addition to the ginger I also like my drinks to be a little on the sweeter side.  If you prefer a less sweet Vodka, you can skip the ginger syrup recipe and put ginger cut up in little pieces directly into your Vodka bottle.

Ginger Simple Syrup

  • 1 and 1/2 cups water
  • 1/2 cup granulate sugar
  • peeled ginger root to taste cut up into pieces

Mix the sugar and water in a pot on the stove until the sugar is fully dissolved.  Heat up the mixture to a boil and add in the ginger root.  Keep boiling until the mixture thickens; about 30 minutes.  Set aside to cool.

Ginger Vodka

Once cooled pour the ginger syrup, with all of the ginger pieces into a bottle.  Fill up the remainder of the jar with Vodka.  You can use plain Vodka or a flavored one.  As a vanilla fan I thought it would be interesting to taste the ginger and vanilla combination, so I used Vanilla Vodka.  After 3 days if you choose you can strain the ginger the pieces out of the vodka.  Once strained, store the finished ginger vodka in a cool dry place for 1 month before tasting.  Since I love the spicy, peppery taste of ginger, I prefer to leave the ginger pieces for the entire month and after that I strain it.  I’ve found that the longer you leave the ginger pieces the more potent the flavor.

Bonus Treat:  Remove the ginger pieces and rather than wasting them, coat them in sugar and let them dry.  You now have a treat of candied ginger.  Another one of my favorites!

Pravda

Now back to some thoughts on Pravda.  Located in trendy Soho, Pravda is an underground caviar bar with a russian theme.  Not something you would expect to find in Soho and definitely an unexpected treat.  Since we purchased a deal from bloomspot we were able to each try an appetizer, an entree, a dessert, and a cocktail.  We each ordered something different from the pre-fixe menu and everything we had was delicious!  I had the crab cakes which were topped with pickled cucumbers and pickled ginger.  I thought this was a good crab cake.   The crab which should be star, stood out.  I’ve had crab cakes in the past where all you could taste was the filler and not the crab so I give their crab cakes an enthusiastic thumbs up.  Don’t be surprised if you see a crab cake recipe on here soon.  My finance had the chicken skewers with a spicy walnut sauce.  The sauce was delicious and unexpected; spicy, sour and nutty all at the same time.  Since this is a caviar bar, for my entree I had to try the salmon caviar pizza.  If you like salmon and caviar definitely give this a try.  With just the right amount of salt the caviar balanced out my drink perfectly.

For my cocktail since I love ginger I decided to try a drink called the Moscow Mule which is essentially ginger infused vodka, ginger beer, and lime.  While I found the the drink had too much lime for me you could taste the slight notes of ginger in the background and there are a few more cocktails on the menu that I would love to try so we’ll definitely be going back.

If you would like to try Pravda click here for their website.

Leave a Reply

