Cookie Dough’nt You Want Some?

How many of you love cookie dough?  It’s one of my favorite things even more so since I enjoy baking, after all what baker doesn’t taste their cookie dough before baking it???  And of course there’s cookie dough ice cream, it’s my favorite, reminds me of my younger days on the boardwalk and ice cream sundaes.  As many of you know, normal cookie dough of any kind has eggs in it, which in raw form can lead to Salmonella.  So I thought why can’t I have my cookie dough and eat too?  So I came up with a recipe for cookie dough that doesn’t use eggs and I decided to turn it into truffles. 

The idea was to bring it to a family gathering where some of the guests didn’t eat eggs.  Unfortunately I didn’t have time to finish them prior to the gathering.   However, I was able to finish them the next day and the results were awesome!  For those who know me, I love my sweets and I love to bake, however I never follow a recipe exactly.  I’ll usually add in or take out ingredients to make it my own.  This recipe is loosely based on a recipe for peanut butter no bake cookies that I learned in a home economics class a very long time ago.  Instead of using peanut butter I decided to make my own cashew “butter”.  Also while most recipes call for using granulated sugar, I prefer substituting raw sugar for it’s flavor and consistency.     

Cashew “butter”

  • 1 cup of roasted salted cashews
  • 2 tablespoons of Vanilla Soy or Milk

Using either a food processor or chopper, finely grind the cashews till they are almost a paste.  Once you reach the desired consistency, like here: 

Add in the vanilla soy one tablespoon at a time.  The end result should be a smooth looking paste. Of course if you prefer, you can leave it chunky.

Cookie dough truffles

Ingredients:

  • ¾ cup of all purpose flour
  • ½ cup of butter, or shortening
  • ½ cup of cashew butter
  • ¼ cup of raw demura sugar
  • ¼ cup of brown sugar
  • 1 ½ teaspoons of soy (vanilla or plain) or regular milk
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla (optional if you use plain milk)

Preparation:  Mix all ingredients together in a mixing bowl or stand mixer.  Add in chocolate chips to taste. 

I separated the dough in half and added chocolate chips to one half and heath bar crunch to the other half. Shown below is the chocolate chip half:

If your dough isn’t too soft you can roll it into balls at this point.  If however your dough is a little wet, freeze it first for about 15 minutes than roll into balls.  Here is what they look like:

Stick a Popsicle stick into each ball and freeze for at least 1 hour, I ended up freezing overnight and it worked just fine. 

Melt either chocolate chips or candy coating (I did both).  Dip each ball into the melted chocolate and cover with topping of your choice.  I covered mine in gold and silver sugar crystals.  Place on wax paper until chocolate or candy coating hardens.  The end result is shown below. 

As a side note, the truffle idea is really cool on its own without the Popsicle sticks, however I got the idea to use Popsicle sticks from bakerella’s blog.  She’s best known for her amazing creativity in decorating baked goods and of course starting the whole cake pop trend. In addition she’s a contributing editor to Target’s bullseye blog.  Check her out to add even more creative decorations to these truffles.  Hope you enjoy making these!

Leave a Reply

